Auto Express

Winner of the Asian Talent Cup in Thailand; progress for Australians

2022 Asian Talent Cup

Round 4 – Buriram

2022 Asian Talent Cup
Round Four – Race One – Buriram

Carter Thompson won pole and was in the quarter-final lead during the opening 16 laps at Buriram, but after being knocked out in the previous rounds, the 14-year-old certainly wants to make sure to finish this match without missed.

Carter Thompson passed the pole qualifier in front of the MotoGP racetrack in Thailand

Thompson was in a fight for the opener, but gave his fellow opponents plenty of room to ensure he could walk away with good points.

#6 Thompson fights Pratama and Mie

Three tenths of a second passed the top four in checkers but the Malaysian driver, Hakim of Denmark, opened up with victories over Indonesian Veda Ega Pratama and Japanese driver Gun Mie while Thompson finished fourth. .

Championship leader Hakim The Dane saved his best to finally get into the race lead when it counts, in checkers

Thompson is disappointed not to be on the podium when it comes to his pace and potential, but is pleased to have picked up some good points across the board after three DNFs this season.

#12 Marianos Nikolis overcame this group to take fifth place at Buriram

In fifth place, but 12 seconds behind, is fellow Australian Marianos Nikolis. It was the 14-year-old’s best result of the season and he was engaged in a tight fight with six drivers for fifth place in the final laps, but the Australian took it. before Japanese driver Shinya Ezawa. Nikolis also recorded the fastest lap on the way to the finish line in fifth place.

While Nikolis has generally been unable to match compatriot Thompson in most laps this year, he has managed to score in all but one lap so far this season. That record saw him in tenth place in the championship and the Australian in the lead, four points ahead of Thompson.

Cameron Swain just missed a championship point, crossing the line in 16th place, 37 seconds behind the podium finisher. Swain has kept his nose clean to finish every race so far this season, with a best of 11 scored against Qatar and Indonesia.

It’s been a somewhat lonely race for Swain in the end, but the young Australian has completed every race this season.

A Buriram Asian Talent Cup Race Result

  1. Danish Hakim
  2. Veda Ega Pratama + 0.046 seconds
  3. Gun Mie + 0.263 seconds
  4. Carter Thompson + 0.298 seconds
  5. Marianos Nikolis + 12,624 seconds
  6. Shinya Ezawa + 12.674 seconds
  7. Farres Putra + 13,028 seconds
  8. Jakkreephat Phuettisan + 13,177 seconds
  9. Reykat Fadillah + 13,122 seconds (limited to location penalty tracking)
  10. Thanakorn Lakharn + 13,699 seconds
  11. Aan Riswanto + 16.418 seconds (3 seconds penalty tracking limit)
  12. Farish Hafay + 22,808 seconds
  13. Hamad Al-Sahouti + 22,427 seconds (limited to tracking penalty spot)
  14. Burapa Wanmoon + 22,918 seconds
  15. Thanat Laoongplio + 25,828 seconds (3 seconds penalty tracking limit)
  16. Cameron Swain + 37,650 seconds
  17. Amon Odaki + 44.729 seconds
  18. Vatican Sukkum + 45,266 seconds
  19. Emil Izdhar + 46,016 seconds
  20. Kavin Quintal + 53.865 seconds

Buriram Asian Talent Cup two races

A morning shower has left the Buriram Circuit wet in places that have seen racers stand on nets on wet tires during the 16-lap race.

The 73 km race is much longer than what we see here in the Australian Superbike Championship, where most first class races in the country are only around 50 km and support races are as short as 30 km.

Carter Thompson had a great drop but the Danes took the lead in round one before the Australians took the lead in the next straight. However, the field is so tight, and the positions change frequently, it’s almost impossible to keep track of who’s where in the melee.

Just a lap later, Mie and Thompson established their advantage over the crowd and started to break out.

As Thompson and Mie swapped places at the front, Pratama started spinning at them, Phuettisan and Ezawa were also trying to put together that party…

With 12 laps still running, Thompson is in second, compatriot Nikolis in 15th and Swain in 20th.

In half the race, with the wet rubber now pretty much worn on the mostly dry track, Pratama overtook Thompson and Mie, then created a buffer over a second.

Thompson is second ahead of Mie, but that pairing is now about 1.5 seconds ahead of the Dane, who is leading a three-man group vying for fourth that includes Ezawa and Fadillah.

Carter Thompson has set up a new fastest lap in the near term but that still won’t be enough to make any significant incursions into Pratama.

Veda Ega Pratama continued to break through with ease, lasting to the tune of nearly a second a lap in the second half of the race, unprecedented in this category.

While Pratama is just racing ahead on his own, Carter Thompson and Gun Mie are vying for second place.

A few seconds later Thompson and Mie had a fierce battle for fourth place played out between Ezawa, the Dane, Riswanto, Phuettisa and Fadillah.

Thompson started the final lap in second place with Mie still right on his tail. Thompson quickly overstepped the track on the final lap and beat Mie for second place.

An unbelievable and dominant victory for the 13-year-old Indonesian driver Veda Ega Pratama.

Thompson was relegated to one spot in the results for going over the track but remained on the podium.

Marianos Nikolis was unable to match her race to a form but still picked up a few points in 14th place, 37 seconds behind race winner Pratama and 30 seconds off the podium.

Carter Thompson’s 16 points from the second lap saw him overtake his compatriot in the championship standings to leave Thailand with the Aussie lead.

Cameron Swain once again took the bike home but failed to score any points in his tally. Swain crossed the line in 18th place, 80 seconds behind winning.

Unfortunately, the Idemitsu Asia Talent Cup is not on the race card at the Australian GP, ​​but will instead be re-convened as a support activity for the Malaysia GP at Sepang over the weekend of October 23. Finals followed by the World Superbike Championship in Mandalika on the weekend of 11 November.

Two results of the Buriram Asian Talent Cup Race

  1. Veda Ega Pratama
  2. Gun Mie +7.407
  3. Carter Thompson +7.144 (limited to tracking penalty spot)
  4. Shinya Ezawa +12,349
  5. Jakkreephat Phuettisan +12,990
  6. Aan Riswanto +13,491
  7. Danish Hakim +14.234
  8. Reykat Fadillah +14.327
  9. Thanakorn Lakharn +20,801
  10. Diandra Trihardika +21,027
  11. Farres Putra +28.298
  12. Thanat Laoongplio +30.076
  13. Amon Odaki +36,668
  14. Marianos Nikolis +37.709
  15. Emil Izdhar +37.743
  16. Vatican Sukkum +46,627
  17. Kavin Quintal +80,651
  18. Cameron Swain +80,688
  19. Nguyen Tran Duc Tai +86,930

Asian Talent Cup Champion Points

  1. Danish 126
  2. Ezawa 119
  3. Mie 89
  4. Al-Sahouti 73
  5. Pratama 71
  6. Odaki 66
  7. Fadillah 53
  8. Phuettisan 53
  9. Thompson 48
  10. Wakamatsu 42
  11. Nikolis 38
  12. Putra 31
  13. Riswanto 30
  14. Hafiy 29
  15. Trihardika 28
  16. Laoongplio 20
  17. Lakharn 20
  18. Swain 12
  19. Izdhar 10
  20. Ceiling 4
  21. Akbar 4
  22. Quintal 3
  23. Wanmoon 2
  24. Sukkum 0


News7g: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button