Auto Express

McLaren’s Pato O’Ward Wins Indy Grand Prix Of Alabama

Image for article titled McLaren & # 39;  s Pato O & # 39;  Ward Wins Indy Of Alabama Grand Prix

Photo: Penske Entertainment / Joe Skibinski

The IndyCar Series had its first fixed-road race of the Indy Grand Prix of Alabama season at Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham, Alabama. There are concerns that the race will be affected by rain. Thunder had crossed the tracks, just a few hours too early. Sunday’s delayed Indy Lights race was run mostly in wet conditions but the track surface was dry by the end of the race.

Ed Carpenter Racing’s Rinus VeeKay claimed his first career pole position in qualifying. VeeKay beat McLaren’s Pato O’Ward by less than two tenths of a second on Saturday.

Juncos’ Callum Ilott was the most impressive rookie not only at the start of the race but all day Saturday. He advanced to the second qualifying round and put his 11th car in the net. From 11th place, Illott jumped to eighth place in the first round. The British rookie rose to seventh before he completely changed the strategic move of the race.

Ilott is racing against Meyer Shank’s Hélio Castroneves to turn seven. He tried to overtake the four-time Indianapolis 500 champion and put in too much speed into the corner. Illot left the track, lost control on the grass, and crashed his car into a gravel trap, prompting riders to exercise caution first.

The caution happened just after all the drivers completed their first pit stops. This played against the drivers on a three-stop strategy instead of two stops, especially Penske’s Josef Newgarden and Andretti’s Colton Herta. The three-stop runners had hoped that the caution came out before drivers on the two-stop strategy made their first stop. The hope was that they would be shuffled to the front behind the pace car as the rest of the field headed down pitlane.

On Lap 62 of 90, Pato O’Ward ended Rinus VeeKay’s stranglehold on the virtual lead with a brilliant pass around the outside in turn five. By Lap 64, VeeKay would be third as Ganassi’s Álex Palou rejoined the track second after taking his final stop. Reigning champion Palou didn’t have anything against the McLaren driver as Pato O’Ward went on to win the Indy Grand Prix of Alabama.

Race Result – Top 10

  1. Pato O’Ward
  2. Álex Palou
  3. Rinus VeeKay
  4. Will Power
  5. Scott Dixon
  6. Scott McLaughlin
  7. Romain Grosjean
  8. Graham Rahal
  9. Alexander Rossi
  10. Colton Herta

Álex Palou has taken the lead in the points standings, ahead of Scott McLaughlin by three points. IndyCar will return for the GMR Grand Prix at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in two weeks.

Source link


News7g: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button