Horse Racing

’23 Clay Puett Award to Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance

The University of Arizona Race Track Industry Program proudly announces that the Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance will be honored with the 2023 Clay Puett Award. Recognized for its pivotal role in championing equine welfare since its inception in 2012, the Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance has set the standard for regulating and funding programs dedicated to the well-being of Thoroughbred athletes.

Robert Hartman, RTIP chair, applauds the efforts of the Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance, stating, “Since its founding, the Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance has been at the forefront of equine welfare. Their impactful work, alongside their accredited organizations, has significantly elevated our industry by successfully transitioning Thoroughbred athletes to new homes and fulfilling careers.”

The Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance operates through a comprehensive process of accreditation, inspection, and awarding grants to approved aftercare organizations. This initiative facilitates the retraining, retiring, and rehoming of Thoroughbreds, with industry-wide funding ensuring the success of these endeavors.

Initially funded by the Breeders’ Cup, The Jockey Club, and Keeneland, the Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance has garnered widespread support from owners, trainers, breeders, racetracks, aftercare professionals, and various industry groups. Since its inception, the organization has distributed $31.9 million in grants, leading to the successful retraining, rehoming, or retirement of 16,500 Thoroughbreds through accredited organizations. This year, 86 accredited organizations received grants totaling $3.8 million.

Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance Advantage:

Sign up for

  • Industry-united initiative.
  • Rigorous accrediting system and a robust funding mechanism.
  • Raised funds providing vital support to accredited aftercare organizations for the responsible retirement, retraining, and rehoming of racehorses.
  • A shared responsibility among many Thoroughbred entities, including The Jockey Club, Breeders’ Cup, Keeneland Association, Inc., sales companies, horsemen groups, racetracks, stallion farms, trainers, and others.

About the Clay Puett Award: The Clay Puett Award, established on December 9, 1994, is bestowed upon a person or persons for their outstanding contributions to the racing industry. Named after the late Clay Puett, an Arizona resident whose innovations, including the development of the mechanical starting gate, helped to revolutionize racing around the world. The list of previous Clay Puett Award winners includes Joe Harper, Marylou Whitney, The Grayson-Jockey Club Foundation, John Gaines and Clement Hirsch.   


This press release has been edited for content and style by BloodHorse Staff.


News7g: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button